1. If the file is intended for internal Auburn recipients, you can restrict access to authenticated Auburn accounts by selecting "Require AU Login". With this option, anyone who receives the download URL will be required to authenticate using their normal Auburn username and password.
2. To further restrict access to uploaded documents intended for internal Auburn recipients, you can limit download access to only computers that are connected to the campus network. This includes workstations with IP addresses within the wired, wireless, and VPN campus address ranges. To use this access control feature, select "On Campus Downloads Only".
3. For added protection of file uploads intended for external recipients with no Auburn identity, the "Assign a Password" option will accept a custom password of your choosing. With this option selected, any download requests will be required to enter the chosen password. To avoid unintended disclosure, FileMover does not send or display the custom password at any time after upload. You should provide the custom password to your intended recipients through a separate communication channel, e.g. voice, text message, or email.
4. For widely distributed files with no data protection requirements, you may disable all protection options. This will allow completely untrestricted downloads to anyone with the associated URL, worldwide. This is only recommended when any combination of the previous protection options are prohibitive for your file audience.
1. To view and modify certain options for your existing file uploads, click the "Manage Files" tab. You can view a list of all files that are still available for download, and the associated expiration and security settings in the "Active Files" group. To see a full history of previous uploads that have expired, click "Expired Files".
2. To change protection options, in the Active Files group, select the desired distribution context in the drop down list on the right. If your chosen option differs from the settings provided on upload, FileMover will provide an alert containing a *new URL* and request confirmation of the change. Upon confirmation, the new protection option will be applied. FileMover will not automatically notify your recipients of this change. So, you will need to provide recipients with the new URL through a different communication channel.
3. To immediately expire a file and prevent downloads, click the small red button to the left of the file you wish to deactivate. FileMover will request confirmation. If confirmed, FileMover will assign an expiration of the current date and time and immediately disable downloads. The file will be deleted in the next automated processing window. For more information on managing uploaded files, visit the "Accessing File Mover" section.
1. Log into FileMover
2. Once logged in, you will see tabs across the top. Generally you will access:
Request a File
3. On the upload files you can share files with another user. You will chose the files, enter a recipient(s), enter any necessary notes for the recipient, select the security for the file, then click "Upload File".
Typically, the security selected for the file is adequate. Once you upload the file, the designated recipient will receive an email notifying them that a file has been shared and how to access it.
4. You can also request a file through FileMover. Select the recipient and enter notes regarding the file you are requesting
The user will receive an email with this information and they will need to log into FileMover and upload the requested file.
5. You can also mange the files you have received through FileMover. You can see your active files as well as your expired files.