Zoom: Participant Permissions and Waiting Rooms


Here are some Zoom guides on participants and waiting rooms:

Enable Waiting Rooms

Zoom describes a waiting room as “a virtual staging area that prevents people from joining a meeting until the host is ready.” This feature is particularly useful when a host needs to control who can participate in a Zoom meeting and when a participant can enter the meeting. For example, a faculty member may need to ensure that only students in a certain section of a course are able to participate; clinicians may meet with clients one-on-one in the same Zoom meeting by allowing participants in one at a time.


When scheduling a New Meeting in the Zoom app:

  1. In the Zoom application, click Schedule.

  1. Click Advanced Options.

  1. Select Enable Waiting Room.

  1. Click Schedule to schedule the meeting and save the settings.

When editing an existing scheduled meeting in the Zoom app:

  1. In the Zoom application, click the 3 dots next to Start for the scheduled meeting.

  1. Click Edit.

  1. Click Advanced Options.

  1. Select Enable Waiting Room.

  1. Click Save to confirm the new settings.

When editing or creating a Zoom meeting in Outlook:

  1. In the details window for the meeting, click Settings next to Add a Zoom Meeting in the Ribbon.

  1. In the sidebar, click Show under Advanced Options at the bottom.

  1. Click Enable waiting room. Close the sidebar to save the setting.

Restrict Participants to Authenticated Users

Restricting Zoom meetings to authenticated users allows hosts to secure meetings against unknown participants who try to join.

When enabling this feature, hosts can choose either Auburn University Only or Sign in to Zoom from a drop-down menu. Auburn University Only forces users to sign in with their Auburn University credentials and prevents users in other domains from joining a meeting. Sign in to Zoom requires users to sign in with a Zoom account to join a meeting. Both options prevent participants from joining anonymously.

Hosts can also allow users with emails in other domains to join by adding them in the Edit Domain window; the domain is located after the @ symbol an email. For instance, gmail.com is the domain for users@gmail.com.  Since the Auburn domain is listed by default, adding a domain would allow users in the specified non-AU domain and the AU domain to join.


Turning on the authenticated users feature in the Zoom App:

  1. In the Schedule Meeting settings window, click Advanced Options.

  1. Under Advanced Options, check Only authenticated users can join.

  1. In the drop-down menu, choose Auburn University Only or Sign in to Zoom.

  1. To add or edit allowed domains, click Edit.

  1. In the text box, add the domains. Separate them with a comma. Click Save.

  1. Click Schedule at the bottom of the window to save settings.

Turning on the authenticated users feature in Zoom in a browser:

  1. When scheduling a new meeting, scroll down to Meeting Options; select Only authenticated users can join.

  1. In the drop-down menu, choose Auburn University Only or Sign in to Zoom.

  1. To add or edit allowed domains, click Edit.

  1. In the text box, add the domains. Separate them with a comma. Click Save.

  1. Click Save to confirm settings.

Turning on the authenticated users feature in the Zoom for Outlook:

  1. In the Meeting Details window in Outlook, click Settings in the Zoom section on the Ribbon.

  1. In the sidebar, scroll down to Advanced Options and click Show.

  1. Under Advanced Options, check Only authenticated users can join.

  1. In the drop-down menu, choose Auburn University Only or Sign in to Zoom.

  1. To add or edit allowed domains, click Edit.

  1. In the text box, add the domains. Separate them with a comma. Click Save.

  1. Settings save automatically. Close the sidebar.
Send a Participant to a Waiting Room

Zoom describes a waiting room as “a virtual staging area that prevents people from joining a meeting until the host is ready.” This feature is particularly useful when a host needs to control who can participate in a Zoom meeting and when a participant can enter the meeting. For example, a faculty member may need to ensure that only students in a certain section of a course are able to participate; clinicians may meet with clients one-on-one in the same Zoom meeting by allowing participants in one at a time.


  1. Select "Manage Participants."

  1. Hover over the participants name and select "More."

  1. Select "Put in Waiting Room."

 

Admit Participants in a Waiting Room into a Meeting

Zoom describes a waiting room as “a virtual staging area that prevents people from joining a meeting until the host is ready.” This feature is particularly useful when a host needs to control who can participate in a Zoom meeting and when a participant can enter the meeting. For example, a faculty member may need to ensure that only students in a certain section of a course are able to participate; clinicians may meet with clients one-on-one in the same Zoom meeting by allowing participants in one at a time.


Admitting or removing individual participants 

  1. Click Participants on the toolbar at the bottom of the screen.

  1. In the sidebar, select Accept or Remove.

Admitting all participants

  1. Click Participants on the toolbar at the bottom of the screen.

  1. In the sidebar, select Admit All.

Prevent Participants from Screen Sharing
  1. Click the arrow next to Share Screen.

  1. Click Advanced Sharing Options.

  1. Under “Who can share?” select Only Host. Close the window to save the settings.

 

 

Related Links