Outlook: How to Access a Shared Departmental Email Account


shortcutaub.ie/sharedemail

 

Departmental email accounts are set up as shared email accounts in most cases. Access to these accounts is permission based instead of by password. These shared accounts can be accessed in Outlook for Windows (Classic and New), Outlook for Mac, the Outlook mobile app, and Outlook on the web.

Click the button below to view specific instructions for adding, using, or removing a shared departmental email account in each Outlook application:

Outlook for Windows (Classic) Outlook for Windows (New) Outlook for Mac Outlook Mobile App Outlook on the Web

Outlook for Windows (Classic)


Adding a shared email account:

1. Launch Outlook. 

2. On the File menu, click Account Settings and then select Account Settings from the list.

3. On the Email tab, select your Auburn account and then click Change.

4. Click More Settings.

5. In the new window, click the Advanced tab and click Add next to the additional mailboxes box.

6. Under Add Mailbox, enter the shared email address, and click OK > Apply > OK.

7. Click Next > Done > Close.

8. You may have to restart Outlook for the change to take effect. The shared mailbox should now appear in Outlook below your individual Auburn email/folders.

Sending email from the shared mailbox:

1. In Outlook, click New Email. 

2. If you don't see the From field at the top of your message, click Options > From.

3. Click From in the message and change to the shared email address. If you don't see your shared email address, click Other email address and then type in the shared email address.

4. Click OK. 

5. Finish typing your message, and click Send. From now on, when you want to send a message from your shared mailbox, the address will be available in your From drop-down list. Whenever you send a message in your shared mailbox, your recipients will only see the shared email address in the message. 

Replying to email sent to the shared mailbox:

1. In Outlook, open the email message you want to reply to. 

2. In the From field at the top of your message, you should see the name of your shared mailbox. If you don't, choose the From drop-down box and choose your shared mailbox.

3. Finish typing your message, and click Send. When you want to send a message from your shared mailbox, the address will be available in your From drop-down list. Whenever you send a message in your shared mailbox, your recipients will only see the shared email address in the message. 

Removing a shared email account:

1. On the File menu, click Account Settings and then select Account Settings from the list.

2. On the Email tab, select your Auburn account and then click Change.

3. Click More Settings.

4. In the new window, click the Advanced tab. Under mailboxes, select the shared email to remove, and click Remove > Yes > Apply > OK.

5. Close out of all other windows (Click Next > Done > Close). You should no longer see the shared email displayed in your Outlook.

Additional information can be found on Microsoft's Shared Mailbox (Classic Outlook) Support Page.

Outlook for Windows (New)


Adding a shared email account:

1. Launch Outlook.

2. On the left side of your email inbox, locate your email address (right above Inbox). Right-click on your email address, and click Add Shared Folder or Mailbox. (Note: You can also click on the 3 dots "more options" next to your email address to get to the same menu to choose "Add Shared Folder or Mailbox.") 

3. Type the shared email address you want to access, and click Continue. Click Close. Note: You may be prompted to restart Outlook.

4. The shared email account will appear in your Outlook (scroll down). 

Sending email from the shared mailbox:

1. In your email, on the Home tab, select New > Mail.

2. If you don't see the From field at the top of your message (next to Send), on the Options tab, select Show From. 

3. Select From in the message and change to the shared email address. If you don't see your shared email address, choose Other email address and then type in the shared email address. 

4. Finish typing your message, and click Send. From now on, when you want to send a message from your shared mailbox, the address will be available in your From drop-down list. Whenever you send a message in your shared mailbox, your recipients will only see the shared email address in the message. 

Replying to email sent to the shared mailbox:

1. In new Outlook for Windows, open the email message you want to reply to. 

2. In the From field at the top of your message, you should see the name of your shared mailbox. If you don't, choose the From drop-down box and choose your shared mailbox.

3. Finish typing your message, and click Send. When you want to send a message from your shared mailbox, the address will be available in your From drop-down list. Whenever you send a message in your shared mailbox, your recipients will only see the shared email address in the message.

Removing a shared email account:

1. Right-click the shared mailbox in the left navigation pane (or click the "More options" three dots), and click Manage Account.

2. Next to the shared mailbox, click Manage.

3. Click Remove > Remove. You will no longer see the shared mailbox in your Outlook.

4. If you still see the shared mailbox, click the "Manage options" three dots next to the shared mailbox, and click Remove shared mailbox or folder > Remove.

Additional information can be found on Microsoft's Shared Mailbox (New Outlook) Support Page.

Outlook for Mac


Adding a shared email account:

1. Launch the Outlook desktop application for Mac.

2. Click the Tools tab on the top menu, and click Accounts.

3. In the Accounts window, select your Auburn Microsoft 365 account.

4. Click Delegates & Sharing.

5. Click the Shared with Me tab.

6. In the "Open these additional mailboxes" window, click the plus sign (+) in the bottom left corner to add a mailbox.

7. Enter the shared email address in the search field, and click Add.

8. Close the Accounts window. Your shared email mailbox will appear in the Outlook navigation pane.

9. (Optional) Alternatively, you can go to File > Open > Shared Mailbox to open a shared or delegated mailbox.

Sending email from the shared mailbox:

1. In Outlook for Mac, click New Mail. 

2. Click From in the new email message, and select the shared mailbox. 

3. Finish typing your message, and click Send. From now on, when you want to send a message from your shared mailbox, the address will be available in your From drop-down list. Whenever you send a message in your shared mailbox, your recipients will only see the shared email address in the message. 

Replying to email sent to the shared mailbox:

1. In Outlook, open the email message you want to reply to. 

2. In the From field at the top of your message, you should see the name of your shared mailbox. If you don't, choose the From drop-down box and choose your shared mailbox.

3. Finish typing your message, and click Send. When you want to send a message from your shared mailbox, the address will be available in your From drop-down list. Whenever you send a message in your shared mailbox, your recipients will only see the shared email address in the message. 

Removing a shared email account:

1. Select Tools > Accounts > click on your Microsoft 365 account.

2. Click Delegates & Sharing, and on the "Shared with Me" tab, choose the shared mailbox you want to remove and click the minus (-) button to remove it. 

3. Close out of the Accounts window. You should no longer see the shared mailbox in your Outlook for Mac.

Additional information can be found on Microsoft's Shared Mailbox (Mac) Support Page.

Outlook Mobile App


Adding a shared email account:

1. Open the Outlook app on your mobile device.

2. Tap Inbox in the top left corner.

3. Tap the Gear icon in the bottom left corner to open the Settings menu.

4. Under General, tap Accounts, Add Account, and Shared Mailbox.

5. Type the shared email address, and tap Add Shared Mailbox.

6. Swipe down to exit the Accounts window.

7. When you click on the round icon next to Inbox, or swipe to the right, you will see round icons for both your email and the shared email account.

Sending email from the shared mailbox:

1. In the Outlook app, tap the New Mail icon to create a new message.

2. In the From field, tap the drop-down menu and select the shared mailbox address. If the From field is not visible, tap Options to display it. 

3. Type your email message and tap Send. 

Replying to email sent to the shared mailbox:

1. In the Outlook app, open the email message you want to reply to from your shared inbox. 

2. Tap Reply or Reply All.

3. Tap the From field (or the drop-down arrow) to ensure the shared mailbox address is selected.

4. Type your email message and tap Send. 

Removing a shared email account:

1. From your AU email, tap the round profile icon > tap Settings (gear icon in bottom left corner) > tap Accounts > tap the shared mailbox and scroll down to select Remove Account > Remove.

2. You should no longer see the shared email account in Outlook mobile.

Additional information can be found on Microsoft's Shared Mailbox (Outlook mobile) Support Page.

Outlook on the Web


Adding a shared email account:

1. Log in to Outlook on the web at outlook.office.com (shortcut is aub.ie/email) using your Auburn email and password.

2. On the left side of your email inbox, locate your email address (right above Inbox). Right-click on your email address, and click Add Shared Folder or Mailbox. (Note: You can also click on the 3 dots "more options" next to your email address to get to the same menu to choose "Add Shared Folder or Mailbox.") 

3. Type the shared email address you want to access, and click Continue. Click Close.

4. Close the "Shared with me" window. The shared email account will appear in your Outlook (scroll down). 

Sending email from the shared mailbox:

1. In your email, on the Home tab, select New > Mail.

2. If you don't see the From field at the top of your message (next to Send), on the Options tab, select Show From. 

3. Select From in the message and change to the shared email address. If you don't see your shared email address, choose Other email address and then type in the shared email address. 

4. Finish typing your message, and click Send. From now on, when you want to send a message from your shared mailbox, the address will be available in your From drop-down list. Whenever you send a message in your shared mailbox, your recipients will only see the shared email address in the message. 

Replying to email sent to the shared mailbox:

1. In Outlook on the Web, open the email message you want to reply to. 

2. In the From field at the top of your message, you should see the name of your shared mailbox. If you don't, choose the From drop-down box and choose your shared mailbox.

3. Finish typing your message, and click Send. When you want to send a message from your shared mailbox, the address will be available in your From drop-down list. Whenever you send a message in your shared mailbox, your recipients will only see the shared email address in the message.

Removing a shared email account:

1.  Right-click the shared mailbox in the left navigation pane (or click the "More options" three dots), and click Remove shared mailbox or folder.

2. Click Remove. You will no longer see the shared mailbox in your Outlook.

Additional information can be found on Microsoft's Shared Mailbox (Outlook on the web) Support Page.