One of Zoom’s features is screen sharing. This feature is by default turned off for participants to ensure that the Host can control who is allowed to share a screen (since March 26, 2020). A host can change this setting when creating a meeting.
As Host, the instructor can decide whether to share the entire computer screen, a particular screen window, or the whiteboard feature in Zoom. Screensharing is helpful to show a presentation, to demonstrate use of a software application, or to “write” on the white board.
When the instructor starts the process to share the screen, the one important decision to make is which screen to share. Choices include the entire screen, each window currently open, and the whiteboard. Selecting one particular window limits the view to this window, cutting down on disruptions that may be caused by pop-up notifications if the entire screen is shared.
The whiteboard can be saved and is found as an image file in the local computer’s Zoom folder. From here, it can be shared with students through Canvas. This functionality works particularly well on larger touchscreen devices such as iPads or Surface Pros. Instructors can ensure Autosave is set in their Meeting Settings.
Instructors can also prevent participants to share their screen.
Instructors can contact Biggio for further assistance.